Dept Banner
Dept Banner

2011 Rutgers President's Awards

Nine SAS Faculty honored for teaching, research, and scholarship

sas 300x200 group cropped nr11facserviceaward1755

Members of the university community were honored for excellence in teaching, research, and scholarships at a May 4th ceremony hosted by President Richard L. McCormick at the Rutgers new Visitors Center on Busch Campus.



See below for the awards and citations earned by these SAS faculty.

The Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded to faculty members in recognition of outstanding service in stimulating and guiding the intellectual development of students at Rutgers University. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium. 

Ousseina D. Alidou, Department of African, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Languages and Literatures, School of Arts and Sciences, was honored for guiding her students to an understanding of different ways of seeing and knowing, and stimulating  thinking and performance at the highest levels.

Michael L. Littman, Department of Computer Science, School of Arts and Sciences, was honored for his contributions to the intellectual development of his students, including his gift for finding creative ways to help students understand even the most complex course materials.

The Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research honors faculty members who have made distinguished research contributions to their discipline or society. Recipients receive a $1,000 honorarium.

Jay A. Tischfield, professor, Department of Genetics, School of Arts and Sciences, Human Genetics Institute of New Jersey, was honored for his research into the genetic mechanisms of human disease, which has contributed to an understanding of the stability of DNA sequences in somatic cells.  

The Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award honors faculty members who have made outstanding contributions in research and teaching. The award recognizes those who bring together scholarly and classroom activities. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium.

Nancy A. Hewitt, Departments of History and Women’s and Gender Studies, School of Arts and Sciences, was honored as a leading feminist scholar who has been instrumental in integrating gender, race and class into the study of history and instilling in her students the value of intellectual rigor and the importance of viewing history from a larger perspective.

Kim S. McKim,
Department of Genetics, School of Arts and Sciences, Waksman Institute of Microbiology, was honored for his original and innovative research into the genetic and molecular events that control meiotic recombination and the chromosome segregation in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster and for his ability to explain complex genetic concepts that help students learn.

The Rutgers Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence honors faculty members who have recently been promoted with tenure and whose work shows exceptional promise. The fellowship includes a citation and a $2,000 research account.

Ying Fan Reinfelder, associate professor, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences, Department of Environmental Sciences, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, was honored for her unique contributions to complex issues in hydrology and climate modeling and for her research on the interaction of the terrestrial water cycle and climate through physical, biological and geochemical pathways.

The Presidential Fellowships for Teaching Excellence honors newly tenured faculty members for outstanding teaching and scholarly work. A research account has been established for each recipient.

Timothy C. Power, associate professor, Department of Classics, School of Arts and Sciences, was recognized for his teaching at every level and for his mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students.

Daniel Seidel, associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology,School of Arts and Sciences, was honored for his dedication to mentoring students and helping them reach the highest levels of academic achievement.

Evie Shockley, associate professor, Department of English, School of Arts and Sciences, was honored for her innovative teaching and her ability to foster productive, open discussion among her students.

See the full list of universitywide awardees.

Contact Us

contact us gate
Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences

77 Hamilton Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901

P  848-932-7896
sas footer branding 2015