Dept Banner
Dept Banner
infographics 96majors
infographics 1766 queens
infographics 5 campuses

Arts and Sciences faculty honored for teaching, research, and scholarship

Women Global Health 2016 large

Members of the university community were honored for excellence in teaching, research, and scholarships at a May 5 ceremony hosted by President Robert L. Barchi at Winants Hall on the College Avenue Campus.

See below all the awards earned by Arts and Sciences.


The Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research honors faculty members who have made distinguished research contributions to their discipline or society.

Kenneth Irvine 2016Kenneth D. Irvine, Waksman Institute of Microbiology, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, was honored for his many significant contributions to our understanding of mechanisms that control organ growth and morphogenesis, which have fundamentally enhanced our understanding of basic principles of embryonic development and growth control.

Scott Thomas, New High Energy Theory Center, Department of Physics and Astronomy, was honored for his distinguished contributions to theoretical particle physics, including his role in the discovery of the Higgs boson, and his ability to translate the deepest and most abstract ideas in high energy theory into predictive search strategies for experimental confirmation of these ideas. (Not pictured)

The Warren I. Susman Awards for Excellence in Teaching is awarded to faculty members in recognition of outstanding service in stimulating and guiding the intellectual development of students at Rutgers University.

Susman Prusa Stevens 2016Thomas Prusa, Department of Economics, was honored for his innovative curriculum development, his eng aging and interactive teaching style, and his dedicated, generous, and highly effective mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students, not only during their years at Rutgers but also throughout their lives.

Camilla Stevens, Departments of Latino and Caribbean Studies and Spanish and Portuguese, was honored for her expansive teaching practice, which includes not only superb teaching, dedicated mentoring, and innovative interdisciplinary curriculum development, but also a deep commitment to student learning that reaches beyond the confines of the classroom and the university campus. 

The Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award honors faculty members who have made outstanding contributions in research and teaching. The award recognizes those who bring together scholarly and classroom activities.

Eviatar Zerubavel 2016

Rosanne Altshuler, Department of Economics, was honored for her path-breaking contributions to our understanding of international taxation and corporate behavior through her highly influential research and public service, and of her singular ability to help students understand the economic underpinnings of taxation as well as appreciate the ways that economic research changes lives and informs policy-makers. (Not pictured)

Eviatar Zerubavel, Department of Sociology, was honored for his highly influential intellectual leadership as the founder of the field of cognitive sociology, and of his ability not only to transmit a body of knowledge but also to show students how to think independently and find their own unique voices.


The Board of Trustees Research Fellowships for Scholarly Excellence honors faculty members who have recently been promoted with tenure and whose work shows exceptional promise.

Erin Vogel 2016Erin R. Vogel, Department of Anthropology, was honored for her wide-ranging contributions to primate ecology and energetics, particularly her theoretical and methodologically sophisticated studies of the dietary habits of orangutans, which have reshaped evolutionary theory.







The Ernest E. McMahon Class of 1930 Award is funded by the Class of 1930 of Rutgers College and is given to an individual or a group that has made a significant and creative contribution to the extension of the educational resources of the university to the people of New Jersey.

Women Global Health 2016The Women’s Global Health Certificate Program, Department of Women’s and Gender Studies, was honored for the Program’s significant and creative contributions to the extension of the University’s educational resources through its partnership with National Nurses United, and its use of creative technologies to foster critical engagement and intergenerational respect between Rutgers students and nurses and health care professionals across New Jersey and beyond. Monique Gregory, Mary Hawkesworth, and Suzy Kiefer (pictured left to right) were honored for their instrumental role in establishing the Women's Global Health Certificate Program.



The Leaders in Faculty Diversity Award honors a select number of faculty who have been leaders in promoting diversity, inclusion, equity, and access at Rutgers, either through their own research and teaching, and/or in other venues.

Carlos Decena 2016Carlos Decena, Departments of Latino and Caribbean Studies and Women’s and Gender Studies, was honored for advancing the boundaries of scholarship and research in Ethnic, Queer and Spiritual Studies; and for initiating interdisciplinary collaborations between the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico and the Institute for Research on Women; for leadership beyond Rutgers as President of the new National Latino Studies Association; and as a Fulbright specialist in Women’s Studies at the Centro Latino-Americano de Economía Humana.






Edward RamsamyEdward Ramsamy, Africana Studies, School of Arts and Sciences and Graduate Faculty of Geography and Urban Planning and Policy Development, was honored for his outstanding leadership in developing significant academic programs with and for students that advance diversity, equity and inclusion; and distinguished scholarly research on globalization, identity politics, Indian resistance in South Africa, and the history of the civil rights movement in the U.S.







Explore Arts and Sciences

Contact Us

contact us gate
Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences

77 Hamilton Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901

P  848-932-7896
sas footer branding 2015