Alexander Zamolodchikov Awarded 2011 Dirac Medal

Rutgers physicist Alexander Zamolodchikov Awarded 2011 Dirac Medal

The International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has awarded its 2011 Dirac Medal to physicists Edouard Brézin (École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France), John Cardy (University of Oxford, Oxford, UK), and Alexander Zamolodchikov (Rutgers University, New Jersey, USA).

The award recognizes their independent pioneering work in field theoretical methods to the study of critical phenomena and phase transitions; in particular, their significant contributions to conformal field theories and integrable systems. Their research and the physical implications of their formal developments have had important consequences in classical and quantum condensed matter systems and in string theory.

Édouard Brézin has made many important contributions to the fields of high energy physics and condensed matter. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and a foreign associate of the United States National Academy of Sciences, and is a member of ICTP's Scientific Council.

John Cardy is best known for his work in condensed matter physics and statistical mechanics. A formula that contributes to conformal field theory is named after him. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society.

Alexander Zamolodchikov has made important contributions to the fields of condensed matter physics and string theory. He is the co-founder of the Rutgers New High Energy Theory Center. He has also received the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics from the American Institute of Physics.

ICTP's Dirac Medal, first awarded in 1985, is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. The Medallists also receive a prize of US$ 5,000. The Dirac Medal is not awarded to Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists, or Wolf Foundation Prize winners, although many Dirac Medallists have proceeded to win these prestigious prizes.

For more details about the Medal and past winners, please visit the Dirac Medal web page at:



Connect with Rutgers

Contact Us


77 Hamilton Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
P   848-932-7896