Our History & Future

Rutgers Flag

The School of Arts and Sciences (SAS) was created in 2006 as part of a major initiative to transform undergraduate education at Rutgers. The initiative envisions a university in which students are empowered, faculty are deeply involved in undergraduate education, barriers to opportunities are eliminated, and the public is more aware of the value of a Rutgers education. The School of Arts and Sciences is proud to have welcomed its first student class, the Class of 2011.

The new School of Arts and Sciences combines the four undergraduate Colleges of Rutgers University's New Brunswick/Piscataway Campus: Douglass College, Livingston College, Rutgers College, and University College. The faculty, which has been unified since 1981 as the Rutgers Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS), now joins with the students as part of the School of Arts and Sciences.

The new School of Arts and Sciences offers all students an expanded choice of majors, more ways to connect with faculty, a common curriculum, a single set of policies and standards, and a wider range of educational opportunities than ever before.

With approximately 800 faculty and 20,000 students, the launch of the School of Arts and Sciences just might be the biggest change in the 240-year history of Rutgers. We are confident this bold and far-reaching plan will build upon the traditions of excellence established by the students, faculty, staff, and alumni of Rutgers University.

Connect with Rutgers

Contact Us


77 Hamilton Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
P   848-932-7896